Grace Parcells

Grace Parcells

Grace at the Athenaeum

I loved Grace Parcells. We were never formally introduced; we never had a conversation. But when I moved here in 1998, I used to take walks down West Lake Street on weekend mornings, and I often saw Grace riding her bicycle. I would wave; she would smile back. One day I shouted, “You are an inspiration to me!” She laughed and rolled her eyes. She lived in a little brown Dutch Colonial on the lake shore, a humble but lovely house that has been there since 1901.

Grace died last month at the age of 91, and the Vice President of the United States came to her calling hours at the Robert D.Gray Funeral Home. Grace was the aunt of Joe Biden’s first wife, who died in a car accident in 1972. On the Web, one anonymous poster said his visit was just politics. No, I’m sure it was Grace.

One thought on “Grace Parcells

Leave a Reply

