The Book


The book, Skaneateles: The Character and Characters of a Lakeside Village, is in print, all 500+ pages of it, and available now from Creekside Books & Coffee (35 Fennell Street) and in the Gift Shop at the Creamery Museum of the Skaneateles Historical Society (28 Hannum Street; open Fridays, 1-4 p.m.).

Inside, 100+ stories from our past: wayward husbands, charlatans, Rebel raiders, a lad skating the length of the lake, a Prussian baron, stars of the silent screen at Kreb’s, a world chess champion and a boa constrictor at the Sherwood, a Dickensian cemetery owner moving bodies at night, and many, many more.

7 thoughts on “The Book

  1. I live in MI… is there any way I can get a copy? I spend every summer growing up at my grandmother’s camp on 41A just south of Mandana. SKN holds a special place in my heart.

    • Absolutely. It goes up on Amazon next week, or you can send a check for $24 to “Laurie Winship” at 8 E. Austin St, Skaneateles, NY 13152. We’d be delighted to send you a copy.

  2. Hi Kihm,
    I am thrilled to see that you have written this book! I am Henry Thurlow’s great grandniece and we communicated last year regarding his trade card.
    I am curious, is he mentioned in your new book?
    Thank you,
    Doreen Peterson

  3. I would like to buy a copy but Creekside is not showing it on their website. Could I still buy it directly from the author? It is a Christmas gift for my mother who told me she wanted it as her gift.

Leave a Reply

